Southern Wannabe Pie Ice Cream

I’ve got a secret that I want to share with you, now that we are close buddies.

I have always wanted to live in the south and be a southern girl. I think I’d fit right in because I always want to say y’all, I love boots (especially of the cowboy variety), country music is all I listen to, not to mention I love the heat (to some extent). 

I envision myself living in a house with a big porch with a blue ceiling (to ward off bad spirits of course) and a huge chunk of land filled with grazing horses, cows and goats.

And maybe a few dwarf hamsters too.

Dreaming of my southern future, I made the Southern Wannabe Pie ice cream, because that’s what I am. Unfortunately, I was born in Pennsylvania and not below the Mason Dixon.

Basically, this is a pecan pie flavor with a fun name. It’s got a vanilla bourbon base and salted butter pecans as an added crunch. And as an extra bonus, its got a swirl of pecan pie gooeyness. You know, that stuff that gets all sticky in your teeth when you eat it? Yeah that’s what I’m talking about.

19-southern wannabe pie 165

Ooey and goopey and wonderful

You don’t know how much I want to tell you that this flavor went off without a hitch. But if I did that, I’d be telling you a big fat lie.

Starting with the buttered pecans. I mixed them up and put them in the oven. Then I forgot about them… for like 20 minutes. Throwing away the charred bits that were once pecans, I started again. This time I kept a close eye on them and they turned out great.

Then onto the pie filling. My mom had told me that for the perfect pie, let it bake for longer than the recipe called for. So I checked it at 40 minutes and it looked perfect, bubbling away. At 55 minutes, it was a black brick in a pie pan. Unsalvagable.

Thank God for my wonderful mom, who baked up a good pie for me to use.

Now we are onto the actual ice cream (you didn’t think the issues stopped there did you?). I bought real vanilla beans to make the flavor really pop. The recipe called for the creams to come to a boil before reducing the heat.

01-southern wannabe pie 016

See those freshly scraped vanilla seeds?

Well as I separated the egg yolks from the whites, I watched in horror as the mixture boiled over into the land of disaster. It looked to me like the elephant toothpaste experiment that is normally done in the first day of chem  class.

02-southern wannabe pie 020

Uh oh. This is not pretty.

I yelled for my backup crew (aka my mom). After giving me the stink eye for making a mess of her stove, she revived my base and assisted in the custard making. Of course with her help it ended up perfectly fine.

03-southern wannabe pie 026

This was my first experience with whole vanilla beans. Can you tell I was excited?

In went the burboun. It was just 2 Tablespoons and I thought meh, what could this do?

Well, you know if I’m asking you, it could do a lot more than I thought it could.

It packs a punch. Like a sucker punch.

You can’t miss it!

But really, this flavor is delicious. The sticky, gooey pie insides are to die for, even if they make you feel like a dog with a mouth full of peanut butter.

And those salted butter pecans, where have they been all my life?! To me, they are the next salted caramel.

06-southern wannabe pie 043

Getting out some frustration

I  must say, this flavor is not for the faint of heart. For people like my mother, who considers even a whiff of alcohol to be too strong, this might throw her over the edge. However, each bite has been different. I’ve conducted multiple taste tests to develop this theory. So one bite could be all pecan and the other total bourbon.

Don’t knock this flavor, okay? It is just what a faux southern girl like myself wants to indulge in while sipping some sweet tea out of a mason jar, tapping her boots waiting to go to a country concert.

13-southern wannabe pie 133

Those gooey swirls..Nothing more needs to be said

Now the moment you are all waiting for, the Alanna fun fact! Today its about a few more of my favorite things. This shoot of this ice cream included my very favorite objects in this world. Firstly is my favorite flower, the sunflower. It is like happiness and summer and all good things about life rolled into one flower.

18-southern wannabe pie 157

Try smiling look at that sunflower. I bet you can’t!

My next favorite thing are mason jars. I put everything in these, including my daily post-it. Each night, I write the best part of my day on a post-it. It has really shown me that there is something good in each day, no matter how bad it may seem. I specifically remember one especially rough day at work last year, when my post-it was: “I ate some good grapes today”.

16-southern wannabe pie 144

Much better than some good grapes!

Well, that’s about all I got for today. Before I sign off here today, I want to send a big thank you shoutout to my dad for father’s day. He is the hardest worker I’ve ever met in my life, and beyond that, an amazing dad. Once, after a long day of studying, all I was craving was a grilled cheese. And wouldn’t you know, my dad drove all the way up to school to take me out to dinner?! He also listened to me blab on and on about how fascinating ice cream was. He didn’t complain one peep. Thanks for everything dad, and enjoy your day (preferably with some ice cream).

IMG_0905

This was mid-April. I wish I was joking

Until next week everyone, scoop ya later!

 

 

One thought on “Southern Wannabe Pie Ice Cream

  1. Pingback: Hold Your Horses Ice Cream |

Leave a Reply

