Not Your Sister’s Peanut Butter Ice Cream

Peanut Butter is a pantry staple in my house. My sister and I have eaten so much of it  in our lives that I’m pretty sure our blood is probably .01% peanut butter. It is almost a given that she will order a chocolate peanut butter flavor when we go out for ice cream.

But if she offers you a taste of said ice cream, don’t eat her coveted chunk of peanut butter. It’s not worth it for the hell you will have to pay. Speaking from 20 years of experience here.

15-Not Your Sister's Peanut Butter Ice Cream 112

Exclusive sneak peek of what’s to come!

One of my top three Ben & Jerry’s flavors is The Tonight Dough. I loved that someone had finally combined cookie dough and peanut butter, along with chocolate. I want to be that person sometime soon

This past summer, my parents bought it for me as a consolation gift because we couldn’t go on the factory tour (the wait was over 3 hours long). Technically, we were all supposed to share it, but I ended up eating the whole pint.

So, with a stomach full of chocolate and peanut butter goodness, we took the scenic route back to our cabin on Lake George.

Word to the wise, don’t eat a pint of ice cream and then go on a roller coaster they call a road. The pain was unbearable.

I skipped dinner that night because I still wasn’t feeling well. Then a plan was revealed that we were going to get ice cream at our favorite place in Lake George that night. We go once a year and tonight was the night. How could I say no to that?! If you know me, you have an idea of where this was going.

Yup, I ate more ice cream that night and regretted it. I was miserable but I couldn’t let this chance pass me by.

I took a long circuitous route to tell you, but today’s flavor is peanut butter heaven! It’s called Not Your Sister’s Peanut Butter Ice Cream. It’s made of a peanut butter based ice cream with cookie dough chunks and peanut butter globs, accessorized with rainbow sprinkles because why the heck not?!

04-Not Your Sister's Peanut Butter Ice Cream 056

Sprinkles are like diamonds. They go with everything

In my flavor research, I learned that ice creams based in peanut butter should not involve custard. The peanut butter takes over the role that the eggs would have played. This was an easy peasy one to make then! No heat required, just a hand mixer. 11-Not Your Sister's Peanut Butter Ice Cream 022

03-Not Your Sister's Peanut Butter Ice Cream 017

I bet you can smell peanut butter right now

As much as I love peanut butter, I think the real star of the show is the cookie dough. It’s an eggless cookie dough made just for ice cream, or more likely, for snacking. It looks like a sausage that you slice whenever you want a taste. I had the chance to use my mom’s KitchenAid stand mixer for this.

These mixers are like heirlooms in our family. I’m not kidding when I tell you we have three of them in our kitchen right now, all differing in power. My mom believes it is the most important appliance in building a home.

01-Not Your Sister's Peanut Butter Ice Cream 001

This is our main mixer. The workhorse.

02-Not Your Sister's Peanut Butter Ice Cream 008

Looks and tastes like cookie dough but totally safe to eat!

After cooling and churning, it was time to layer this baby. I had thought that maybe I would swirl the peanut butter globs into the ice cream, but they were too thick and just stayed as chunks. So they ended up being layers of peanut butter, in between more peanut butter. But hey, I’m not complaining!

05-Not Your Sister's Peanut Butter Ice Cream 069

Not even close to a swirl

Regarding the taste, this flavor is not for people who just like peanut butter. If you aren’t in the love club, you won’t like this. You have to live, breathe and sweat pb to really appreciate it. Maybe that’s a little drastic, but you get the idea.

10-Not Your Sister's Peanut Butter Ice Cream 178

I love this flavor actually. It is just what you expect, no surprises. Next time, I might add some more cookie dough in bigger chunks, but that is just food for thought (get it?!).

19-Not Your Sister's Peanut Butter Ice Cream 168

These were devoured shortly after this picture was taken.

The best day of the summer is coming up really soon! Leave a comment below about your July 4th plans, I’d love to hear them. I’ve got the day off, so I think a good ole fashioned BBQ is in order along with a nice tall glass of lemonade (I’m only 20 you know!)

07-Not Your Sister's Peanut Butter Ice Cream 098

Yes these peanut butter chunks are cloud shaped. No I am not sorry.

 

Next week’s flavor has yet to come over the horizon of thought, but until then, scoop ya later!

 

2 thoughts on “Not Your Sister’s Peanut Butter Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

