Vermont Snow Ice Cream

capture

Ready for another fun, exciting tale straight from the ice cream girl’s mouth (err fingers since you can’t hear me) ?

Take a break from planning your trips home and menu planning to read about a new ice cream flavor inspired by my favorite state.

Introduction: 

It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to figure out that snow and me aren’t quite best friends. Through the years, snow and shoveling have been conditioned in my brain. But this past winter, we had a great snow at school. And for the first time, there was no shoveling, just fun! It was one my top frolicking days, if I had to rank them.

Vermont is known for its great skiing and snow, so I’ve had quite the problem trying to figure out how I will survive up there during those cold months. It got me thinking, there’s gotta be an ice cream in all of these. You know how they say that sculptors can see their sculpture inside a slab of marble? I wouldn’t say I’m on their level, but I know when an ice cream flavor is hidden in a thought and I’m getting pretty good at sniffing them out.

741

Theory:

I was originally thinking of doing a granita type ice with a maple caramel swirl on top, but that was much too boring. Essentially a maple ice-cube. No thanks.

Then I thought, white chocolate! It looks like snow and would be perfect for a base. Even though I am not the biggest white chocolate fan, I still had to give it a go.

Experimental Apparatus and Procedure:

I bought two types of white chocolate bars to put into this base, to melt together some of the yummiest chocolate brands into one super chocolate. Boy oh boy did this end up being a lot of chocolate once its all chopped up.

01-vermont-snow-007

02-vermont-snow-012

Next up, the usual! I’m sure you guys could write this part yourselves by now. Warm the creams, temper into those eggs and custardize!

I say it is the usual, but each time, I am still not sure of what I’m doing. As my one homework partner tells me in thermodynamics, “You may not know what you are doing, but you have the confidence of someone who does. So I’ll follow what you say”.

Adding the chocolate was neat because it didn’t require that the chocolate be melted first. The residual heat from the custard melted the chocolate and turned it into a creamy chocolate heaven.

04-vermont-snow-020

To make the maple caramel, I flew by the seat of my pants. I didn’t really care for any of the recipes I found, so I improvised. When I tasted it (which is extremely unsmart, it will burn you!) it didn’t have enough maple flavor. So I plopped in a bunch more and retasted until the maple flavor > caramel flavor.

06-vermont-snow-036

Churning this flavor was a sad day, because my trusty little orange machine has finally decided to hang its hat. I don’t think it knew what it was signing up for. After churning for about 45 minutes, it was still completely liquid.  Having to go to class, I pinted it and put it in the freezer with layers of maple swirl.

10-vermont-snow-049

It doesn’t take a chemical engineer to figure out that the density differences would cause the maple sauce to sink to the  bottom of the pint. But I only realized that in the middle of heat transfer class, so it was too late. The good news is that I have a bunch extra, so I can just heat it up and drizzle it over the top when serving it.

11-vermont-snow-055

Results

White chocolate is fundamentally different from milk or dark chocolate. Instead of any cocoa solids, which would give it the chocolate color, white chocolate has a higher content of cocoa butter. This gives it the sweetness and creaminess.

Even if you claim to not be a white chocolate fan, please give this one a chance. As mentioned before, I am not the biggest lover of white chocolate. But this flavor is awesome! With a little maple sauce, yum yum yum!

20-vermont-snow-110

I would classify this flavor as scoopable, because it is so rich. Just a few spoonfuls will ease your ice cream cravings. And it will bring you right to a picturesque Vermont landscape where snow is gently falling on those big circle hay bales. I always wanted to climb on one of those, haven’t you?

17-vermont-snow-102

Key message, don’t disregard this flavor. Try it! I have some pretty unusual flavor ideas but I think they may surprise you once you actually give them a try.

Discussion: 

As Thanksgiving rolls around, it heralds a wave of holiday stress. Don’t let it bog you down. This is such an excellent time of year. I mean besides the final exams and projects that never seem to end.

Christmas music has always been a huge thing in my home. My mom and I can’t wait each year to bring out our favorite albums, the Michael W. Smith ones . It really captures that Christmas spirit. I can clearly remember one time when my mom and I were driving back from visiting my grandparents when my Poppop was really sick. We both were upset, because that man really meant the world to us. We popped in a Michael W. Smith CD and sang at the top of our lungs into that clear November night.

So, tell me: what is your favorite Christmas song or album? I’d love to hear any stories you have.

23-vermont-snow-125

Time for my fun fact: I went to a brewery yesterday! I know what you are thinking, why would an underage girl be going to a brewery? In my one class, we have to design a heat exchanger in a brewing process, so we had a little field trip. This place was so cool! Not only was it placed in the beautiful farmland of Pennsylvania, but it was a fascinating operation. Imagine live How It’s Made. I would really like to come back next year to actually be able to taste the beer I learned so much about.

img_1590

Well, that is about all I have to tell this time. Please please enjoy your Thanksgiving. Be thankful for the life you have, the people who are in it and the love you share. I love you all and am grateful you have let me live out my dreams with you.

Until next time, scoop ya later!

16-vermont-snow-093

 

4 thoughts on “Vermont Snow Ice Cream

  1. LOVE, love ,love this scoop squared article! I like how your introducing more science behind this process. Ben and Jerry move over because there is a new and better ice cream coming to TOWN!!

    Like

  2. I am a strict dark chocolate gal, but this ice cream is so delicious that I don’t mind the white chocolate at all! I can’t stop snacking away on it!

    Like

  3. Did you take into account all the extra solids that white chocolate adds to your mix? Dissolved solids impact your freezing point (and all the other colligative properties), so it might not be a faulty machine…

    Like

Leave a Reply

